Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


NeASFAA Annual Spring Conference Wrap-Up

NeASFAA’s annual spring conference was a HUGE success! A great group of over 75 friends gathered in Grand Island on April 25th and 26th to work together as a T.E.A.M. Because…..Together Everyone Achieves More!

Speakers and presenters were the highlight of the conference. Former Nebraska Cornhusker, Demoine Adams opened the conference on Thursday by sharing the importance of being a part of a team. His uplifting message, and audience participation was a great way to kick off the meeting.

David Glezerman, Bursar from Temple University in Philadelphia PA, joined us to share his customer service experience. He also presented sessions on collections and accounts receivable for the business office professionals in attendance.

We were very excited to have RMASFAA President Jeff Jacobs in attendance as well. Jeff presented a RMASFAA update and thanked NeASFAA for a fantastic 2012 fall conference in Omaha. Jeff shared a brief description of each of the RMASFAA committees and highlighted those in NeASFAA that are currently participating. He strongly encouraged volunteerism throughout our associations and invited everyone to the 2013 fall conference in Cheyenne, WY.

NeASFAA’s own Craig Munier provided a federal update on Friday. As NASFAA’s National Chair Elect, Craig had excellent insight into what sequestration, budget cuts and proposals mean for all of us. He also shared NASFAA’s proactive advocacy initiatives and encouraged feedback. NeASFAA is very lucky to have a great resource and friend in Craig!

We also celebrated accomplishments made by our members. NeASFAA had four retirees this year to honor: Randy Sell—UNO, Diane Kahle—Doane College, Tina Larsen—Nebraska Christian College and Steve Millnitz—Central Community College.

NeASFAA also gave the following prestigious awards:

Rookie of the Year: Ray Miller-Grace University

Committee of the Year: Corporate Development Don Bueher - Nelnet and Stacy Seim - EducationQuest

Distinguished Service: Cindy Delaney-NWU and Marty Habrock-UNL

Feel the Excitement: Craig Munier-UNL

Bob Minturn: Renee Besse-UNK

On Friday, NeASFAA President Elect LeAnn Hoffman was handed the gavel by current President Tom Ochsner. He wished her the best of luck in the upcoming year. LeAnn then presented Tom with the Past President plaque and thanked him for his service to NeASFAA.

There was lots of information, celebration and networking packed into two days. On behalf of the Professional Development Committee, I would like to thank all that attended, presented and contributed to a fantastic spring conference. It truly was a T.E.A.M effort. We hope that you can join us next year--April 10th and 11th at the Divots Conference Center Norfolk, NE.